2007_Jan_Nobel Laureates- Energy Self-Sufficiency

UC Berkeley’s Nobel Laureates: Energy Self-Sufficiency in the 21st Century


George A. Akerlof (Economics, 2001) • Steven Chu (Physics, 1997) • Donald A. Glaser (Physics, 1960) • Yuan T. Lee (Chemistry, 1986) • Daniel L. McFadden (Economics, 2000) • George F. Smoot (Physics, 2006) • Charles H. Townes (Physics, 1964) • In conversation with Chancellor Robert J. Birgeneau

Dates and Locations


Jan. 20, 2007
Pauley Ballroom


george akerlof 2

George A. Akerlof

Akerlof was educated at Yale and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he received his Ph.D. in 1966, the same year he became an assistant professor at Berkeley. He became a full professor in 1978.  Akerlof is a 2001 recipient of the Alfred E. Nobel Prize in Economic Science; he was hono…

More about George A. Akerlof
Steven Chu

Steven Chu

Chu is the William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Physics and a professor of molecular and cellular physiology in the Medical School at Stanford University. He has published over 275 papers in atomic and polymer physics, biophysics, biology, batteries, and holds 11 patents. Currently, he is developing…

More about Steven Chu
Donald Glaser

Donald A. Glaser

Glaser (1926–2013) was a physicist, neurobiologist, and the winner of the 1960 Nobel Prize in Physics for his invention of the bubble chamber used in subatomic particle physics. He was a professor in the Graduate School at Berkeley. 

More about Donald A. Glaser
yuan lee

Yuan T. Lee

Lee is a professor emeritus in the Department of Chemistry at Berkeley. In 1986 he shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry John C. Polanyi and Dudley R. Herschbach “for their contributions to the dynamics of chemical elementary processes.” He holds a B.Sc. from Taiwan University (1959); M.S. from Tsing…

More about Yuan T. Lee
Daniel McFadden

Daniel L. McFadden

McFadden is the E. Morris Cox Professor of Economics and Director of the Econometrics Laboratory. He is the 2000 Nobel Laureate in Economics for his work in econometric methods for studying behavioral patterns in individual decision-making. Following the completion of his Ph.D. in 1962 at the Unive…

More about Daniel L. McFadden

George F. Smoot

Smoot received his Ph.D. in physics from M.I.T. in 1970 and was a post-doctoral researcher at M.I.T. before moving to Berkeley in 1971. Honors include: NASA Medal for Exceptional Science Achievement, Kilby Award, Lawrence Award, 2006 Nobel Prize in Physics. An active researcher in observational ast…

More about George F. Smoot
charles townes

Charles H. Townes

Townes was born in Greenville, South Carolina, on July 28, 1915, the son of Henry Keith Townes, an attorney, and Ellen (Hard) Townes. He attended the Greenville public schools and then Furman University in Greenville, where he completed the requirements for the Bachelor of Science degree in physics…

More about Charles H. Townes

Robert J. Birgeneau

Birgeneau, an internationally distinguished physicist, served as the ninth chancellor of UC Berkeley from 2004–13. Well known for his commitment to diversity and equity, he successfully advanced a vision of “Access and Excellence.” Prior to Berkeley, he was president of the University of Toronto fo…

More about Robert J. Birgeneau